Hannah Frank review…August 23, 2019….




Hannah Frank has been a folk/roots-based singer throughout the clubs of Chicago for over a decade.  Her voice has that sultry, jazzy tone, tho, and one realizes when they hear her that she can sing anything she wants.  Her latest release is a single entitled “Comes Love,” and it is backed with the classic “Walkin’ After Midnight,” released on June 21 on Random Chance Records, based in New York.  “Comes Love” is a story of people who realize they can handle most of life’s daily challenges, that is until “Comes Love, then nothing can be done!”  It has a “Hot Club” feel, thanks mightily to the contributions of the backing players—Chicago jazz legend Dennis Luxion is on piano, and multiple-Grammy winner Billy Flynn is on guitar!  That “B side” is a similarly-smooth re-working of Patsy Cline’s classic.  Hannah’s roots background and her torch-y delivery are a perfect fit on this chestnut.

Hannah Frank has been on the scene for a while now, and here’s hoping this single will lead to a full-length effort soon from this versatile, easily-listenable vocalist!!  Until next time…Sheryl and Don Crow, The Nashville Blues And Roots Alliance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: